EEI > Resources & Media > Energy News Stories
Edison Award Winners Announced

June 9, 2014

Today, the Edison Electric Institute presented Westar Energy and Korea Southern Power Corporation Ltd. (KOSPO) with the 2014 Edison Award, the electric power industry’s most prestigious honor, during the EEI Annual Convention in Las Vegas. The Edison Award honors distinguished leadership, innovation, and contribution to the advancement of the electric industry for the benefit of all.

A panel of former electric company chief executives selected the winners of the 87th annual award from a group of distinguished finalists.

Westar Energy received the Edison Award for its innovative engineering and construction of a full-scale wetland to treat wastewater at its coal-based generating facility, the Jeffrey Energy Center (JEC), in northeast Kansas. Learn more about this ground-breaking project here.

KOSPO received the International Edison Award for the company’s development of cutting-edge, clean coal power generation technology at its Samcheok Green Power Plant in Samcheok, South Korea, and for constructing the world’s largest and first dry process greenhouse gas capture facility at its Hadong Plant near Pusan, South Korea. Learn more about KOSPO’s innovative projects here.

Congratulations to Westar Energy and KOSPO for winning the 2014 Edison Award!

Learn more about the Edison Award.