EEI > Resources & Media > Newsroom > Thomas Farrell Elected EEI Chairman; Lew Hay, Michael Yackira And Bill Johnson Elected Vice-Chairmen
Thomas Farrell Elected EEI Chairman; Lew Hay, Michael Yackira And Bill Johnson Elected Vice-Chairmen
Colorado Springs (Tuesday, June 14, 2011) -
Thomas F. Farrell II, chairman, president and CEO of Richmond, Va.-based Dominion, today was elected chairman of the Edison Electric Institute (EEI), the national association of shareholder-owned electric companies, international affiliates and industry associates worldwide. The announcement was made during EEI’s annual meeting here. The institute’s chairmanship rotates on an annual basis.

“The power sector is in the midst of a major transition toward a more efficient electricity grid and a cleaner electric generation fleet,” Farrell said. “Our job during this critical period is to find a path forward that enables us to achieve these goals, while maximizing customer benefits and minimizing costs.”

Farrell will be supported by Lewis “Lew” Hay III, chairman and CEO of NextEra Energy, based in Juno Beach, Fla.; Michael Yackira, president and CEO of Las Vegas-based NV Energy; and William D. “Bill” Johnson, chairman, president and CEO of Raleigh, N.C.-based Progress Energy, Inc.

Tom Farrell has held his current positions at Dominion since April 2007. He served as president and CEO of Dominion from January 2006 to April 2007, and prior to that, president and COO, as well as executive vice president. He joined Dominion in 1995 after practicing law with a regional law firm and has held several executive management positions for Dominion and its subsidiaries. Farrell has been a director since 2005.

Farrell also is a director of Altria Group, Inc, and a member of the Board of Visitors at the University of Virginia's College at Wise. He is a member of the Business Roundtable and serves as vice chair of the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations (INPO) and the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. He received his undergraduate and law degrees from the University of Virginia, where he is currently a member of the Board of Visitors and has served as rector.

Lew Hay was elected CEO of NextEra Energy, then known as FPL Group, in June 2001 and chairman in January 2002. He also is chairman of NextEra Energy’s two primary subsidiaries, Florida Power & Light Company and NextEra Energy Resources, LLC (formerly FPL Energy, LLC). He joined NextEra Energy as chief financial officer in August 1999. In March 2000 he was appointed president of NextEra Energy Resources.

Hay serves on the board of directors of Capital One and Harris Corporation, and is a director of INPO and the Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI). He is a member of the Dean’s Advisory Council at Carnegie Mellon University’s Tepper School of Business, a member of the Business Roundtable, a director of the Florida Council of 100, and a member of the President’s Council on Competitiveness. He received a Bachelor of Science degree in electrical engineering from Lehigh University in 1977 and a Master of Science degree in industrial administration from Carnegie Mellon University in 1982.

Michael Yackira joined NV Energy (formerly Sierra Pacific Resources) in January 2003. He was elected CEO effective August 1, 2007. In February 2007, he was elected president and COO, and also to the board of directors. Prior to that Yackira was corporate executive VP and CFO (December 2003 to February 2007) and executive vice president, strategy and policy (January 2003 to December 2003).

Yackira spent more than a decade as an executive with FPL Group, serving in several positions, including president of FPL Energy; vice president, finance and CFO of FPL Group; and senior vice president of market and regulatory services for Florida Power & Light. Yackira holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Accounting from Lehman College, City University of New York, and is a Certified Public Accountant.

Bill Johnson became chairman and CEO of Progress Energy in October 2007. He served as president and chief operating officer from January 2005 until October 2007 and has been with Progress Energy (previously CP&L) in a number of roles since 1992. On January 10, 2011, Progress Energy and Duke Energy announced a merger. When the transaction closes, Johnson will serve as a director on the board and as president and CEO of the newly combined company. The new company will be the largest regulated utility holding company in the United States.

Before joining Progress Energy, Johnson was a partner with the Raleigh office of Hunton & Williams, where he specialized in the representation of utilities. He previously served as a law clerk to the Honorable J. Dickson Phillips Jr. of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit. He currently is chairman of the board of directors of NEI and a member of INPO’s boards of directors, as well as those of numerous community and charitable organizations. He graduated from Duke University summa cum laude with a bachelor’s degree in history, and received a law degree with high honors from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1982.
Media Contact
EEI Media Relations
Jim Owen