





FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE FOR INFORMATION, CONTACT: EEI – SARAH DURDALLER, (202) 508-5652 IBEW – MATT SPENCE, (202) 728-6014

Senators Catherine Cortez Masto & Kevin Cramer Receive John D. Dingell Award

WASHINGTON (March 4, 2024) – U.S. Representative Debbie Dingell (D-MI) today presented the John D. Dingell Award to Senators Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV) and Kevin Cramer (R-ND) in recognition of their bipartisan work to recognize July 10, 2023, as Journeyman Lineworkers Recognition Day.

Last July, the senators together led a bipartisan resolution to honor the life and work of Henry Miller, the first International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) president, and our nation's more than 100,000 electrical lineworkers. These dedicated lineworkers often work around the clock and in dangerous conditions following hurricanes, wildfires, tornadoes, winter storms, and other extreme weather events to ensure that the customers and the communities they serve have access to safe and reliable electricity. Lineworkers also maintain and enhance the energy grid and play a critical role in delivering America's resilient clean energy future. The resolution was agreed to in the Senate by unanimous consent.

"Lineworkers are the lifeblood of the electric power industry. They work tirelessly to keep the lights on and the economy running," said Edison Electric Institute (EEI) President and CEO Dan Brouillette. "We are proud to recognize Senators Cortez Masto and Cramer for their leadership and bipartisan efforts to honor lineworkers across the country."

"Respect for our nation's lineworkers shouldn't be a partisan issue," said IBEW International President Kenneth Cooper. "Every day they are giving their all to keep America moving, and I'm pleased to recognize Senators Cramer's and Cortez Masto's bipartisan efforts to honor our lineworkers."

In 2008, EEI and the IBEW came together to create the National Labor and Management Public Affairs Committee (National LAMPAC). National LAMPAC strives to foster collaboration and partnership among electric company executives and IBEW leaders to address the nation's energy challenges and to achieve the common goals of running a well-managed, efficient business with a safe and highly skilled workforce.

Named for the longest-serving member of Congress, the John D. Dingell Award is presented to leaders who exemplify and promote labor-management cooperation and whose efforts have

helped to advance the common objectives of the electric power industry and IBEW members. Mr. Dingell served as Chairman of the House Energy and Commerce Committee for many years and amassed an impressive record of bipartisan accomplishments on a wide range of issues, many of which focused on labor-management collaboration.

###

The International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) represents approximately 820,000 members and retirees who work in a wide variety of fields, including construction, utilities, manufacturing, telecommunications, broadcasting, railroads and government.

EEI is the association that represents all U.S. investor-owned electric companies. Our members provide electricity for nearly 250 million Americans, and operate in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. The electric power industry supports more than 7 million jobs in communities across the United States. In addition to our U.S. members, EEI has more than 70 international electric companies, with operations in more than 90 countries, as International Members, and hundreds of industry suppliers and related organizations as Associate Members.