EEI > About EEI > Awards > Emergency Response
Emergency Response
​EEI's Emergency Response Awards recognize member companies that put forth outstanding efforts to restore service promptly to the public following a storm or natural disaster.

The awards are announced in two categories: Emergency Recovery Award (for companies directly impacted) and Emergency Assistance Award (for companies that come to the aid of another company).


Nominations are accepted biannually in order to provide the awards more promptly after events.  Submissions are due in Spring and Fall for Emergency Response Events that have happened since the previous nomination period, with the awards presented ​at the following June and January CEO Conferences.  All EEI energy companies (U.S. and international members) are eligible and may nominate themselves or any other EEI member.  Please contact us if you would like to submit for an event outside of the nomination window.
Nominations for events since April 2019 will be accepted in the fall through October 29, 2019.

The nomination format is similar to past forms; please feel free to use the below documents to draft your submission answers for the online portal.  We ask that you enter a separate submission for each event that you are submitting for.  Member companies may have multiple submissions in each category, but meritorious events will be combined into no more than one Recovery and one Assistance award per submission cycle, with all of the company's winning events noted on the awards.    

If you have any questions, or would like to be notified when the portal is active, please feel free to contact Owen Schmitt at or by phone, 202 508 5180

Nomination example forms are now available for download for your use as you prepare for the new online portal:


Selections will be based on a company’s ability to respond to a crisis swiftly and efficiently, overcome difficult circumstances, utilize unique or innovative recovery techniques, communicate effectively with customers, and restore service promptly.

Response Awards announced in June 2019

Please view recipient list here.

Response Awards announced in January 2019

Please view recipient list here.

Response Awards announced in June 2018

Please view recipient list here.

Response Awards announced in January 2018

Please view recipient list here.

Response Awards announced in June 2017

Recovery Award

FirstEnergy Corp. - High Winds - March 2017
Hydro One Networks Inc. - Winter Ice Storm - March 2016
Kansas City Power & Light Company - Thunderstorms & Tornadoes - March 2017
National Grid - Wind Storm NY - March 2017
      Winter Storm Stella - March - 2017
Otter Tail Power Company - Christmas Day Storm - December 2016
Pacific Gas and Electric Company - Continuous Winter Storms - January & February 2017
Xcel Energy - Winter Storm Jupiter - January 2017

Assistance Award

Indianapolis Power & Light Company - Winter Storms in Michigan - March 2017
Texas-New Mexico Power​ - Hurricane Matthew - October 2016